Plated.com August 2013 Unboxing & Review!

19 Aug

This is our 3rd dish from Plated.com! If you’re interested in reading the first and second reviews, you can click here & here. If you don’t know, Plated.com is a  Gourmet Meal service in which you pay per plate and have all the ingredients, INCLUDING meat mailed to your door FRESH and ready for you to prepare and cook! You can purchase these plates, which change on their menu every week, on a no commitment basis, meaning you only have to pay $15 a plate, and must have an order of 4 plates, or if you order 6+ plates you can get them for $14 per plate. If that is too expensive, you can buy a monthly membership for $10 which knocks your plate cost down to $12 per plate for 4, or $10 per plate for 6+!  Now here’s the awesome thing. If you use my referral link, and buy 4 plates, you get 2 of them for free!! That’s right, you’ll get 4 plates for $30 SHIPPED!!! I’ll also receive two plates free for you using my link! But this is where it gets better, when you sign up, you’ll receive your OWN link, and if you get people to buy off of yours, you’ll receive free plates too! It’s a win win win situation :D ! Currently they’re only in select cities, so you’ll have to check and see if they deliver to your area.

Now, lets get on with my unboxing! This week (August 6th, 2013) I received Asian Soy Steak Tacos with Jicama Slaw!  :)

001This is the box that all meals ship in. (They have since changed the style of the box, how it opens, ect. I just had this photo still, so I’m using it for now :P)

013Inside were the 2 10 oz Beef Flat Iron Steaks. These, of course, are the Steak in the steak tacos! Usually we don’t quite enjoy the meat serving sizes that they send. They usually send 2 10 oz. steaks for 4 plates, meaning 1 feeds 2 people. In our house, we’re huge steak lovers, so it’s kind of a bummer to see that, this week however worked out awesomely!

014Then there were 2 of these green bags with a sticker that reads “asian steak tacos with jicama slaw”.  I love these bags because they’re stuffed with goodies! I opened one bag up to give you a look, so everything in this bag is doubled (as there are two bags, like I said.)

015All of this stuff was in just of these bags! I was so shocked at all of the items! 😀

017The first items in the bag, were 4 (8 altogether) of these Kikkoman Soy Sauce packets. I was really happy to see a name brand soy sauce in there! We love Kikkoman AND soy sauce! This is used to marinate the steak in 🙂

018Next was a big bag of Jicama (2 altogether)! The night I made this dinner, I had just come back from the ER because of leg pains, and my dad and I were sitting in my room at the ER wondering how the heck you pronounce this. We later realized it’s “hicama”…we felt really stupid! 🙂 Anyways, this is used as the main part of the Slaw. You shred it up, and you’re good to go!

019After the Jicama, there were 3 (6 altogether) limes! These were good sized limes too! These were used in almost everything in this dinner. It’s used in the dressing for the slaw, the marinade, and the beans!

020Next were 3 (2 of each) packets of Cumin, Sugar and Garlic Cloves. I was very shocked to see Cumin in this, as I’m not a huge fan of it, but omg, it made the beans so much tastier! That is all the Cumin is used in. The sugar was used in the dressing for the Slaw, as well as 1 clove of garlic. The other clove of garlic was used in the marinade.

021Next was 2 huge bags of Cabbage. This was also used as a main ingredient in the Jicama Slaw.

022Then there were 2 little bottles of Sesame Oil. This was used in the dressing, and smelled really weird! I was confused on why it was needed…but it all worked out in the end!

023Next were 2 big cans of Roland’s Black Beans. These were the beans used for topping/filling of the tacos. Mixed with cumin, lime juice, salt and pepper, they were DELICIOUS.

024Then there were 2 red onions! These were used in the Jicama Slaw too!

025Last but not least were 2 bags of tortillas! I love tortillas 🙂

026The first thing my dad and I did was make the slaw! We shredded the jicama, poured in the cabbage, and sliced the onions really thin (my dad did that part, I had a hard time keeping my eyes open because of the onion stench!). Then we dumped the dressing in (Cilantro, garlic, lime juice, sugar and sesame oil with a little salt!) and mixed it in with our hands! The mixture smelled strongly like skunk…I’m not sure why, but it did!

027Next up, we made the beans! We washed them all, and combined them with the cumin and lime juice, then added salt and pepper. These honestly were SO delicious! The cumin mixed with these tasted like a taco sauce…it rocked!

028While we were making the slaw and beans, we let the tortillas warm up in our oven, and marinaded the steak! The steaks were left in a bag with the soy sauce, garlic clove, and lime juice mixture.

029Then it was time to cook the steak up! These things smelled AMAZING while they were cooking! Although, the outside cooked much faster than the inside. We were a little disappointed at that, but they still came out amazing.

030The last step was to make your tacos! This one is mine. I added the steak and beans to my tortilla, and threw on a little Taco Bell sauce, which REALLY pulled the spicyness together. It was so good! As for the slaw, in my opinion, I didn’t like it. I’m not a cabbage/onion type of person, so that may be why. The smell really threw it all off for me. I did enjoy making it though! I thought the taste of the Tacos were over the top awesome. The spices and lime juice really blended together nicely. The marinade on the steak was fantastic! I’d love to use that all the time. I really look forward to making this again.

031This was my dads. He put the beans, steak and slaw on it! He goes all out when he eats 🙂 My mom’s looked the same, but less of everything.

My parents really enjoyed everything yet again. My mom really liked the Jicama Slaw. She thought everything was perfect, and it was very nutritious. She literally tells EVERYONE about this website, and brags about how good all of the meals come out! My dad said that he loves how everything is so fresh. He really loved the whole entire dinner. He thought it would have paired nicely with some sour cream, it would have added to it, or some kind of sauce. He wanted me to tell Plated that they should make desserts to match the dinners too! He also said we’re going to twist the recipe a little next time and have grilled steak burritos! That should be yummy! 🙂

If you’re interested in ordering from Plated.com, use this link to get 2 Free Plates! 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Plated.com August 2013 Unboxing & Review!”

  1. CJ August 19, 2013 at 8:08 pm #

    Oh wow! This looks so yummy and delish! I have been thinking about getting this subscription, but I’m trying to stay on a budget. Maybe I’ll treat myself during the holidays. Thanks for sharing!

    • PolishManiacs August 19, 2013 at 8:12 pm #

      Yes CJ! This box rocks! I have another post ready to go up, I’m getting a box tomorrow, and one next week! I’m so in love with it. I think during the holidays it would be great if they had discount codes or something 🙂 But yes, It would be a wonderful treat! 🙂

Leave a comment